Tags

, ,

“Hurry! It should begin any minute!”, said my best friend while I was fighting with our stubborn TV remote.
“Come on it’s the last episode!”
“I know, Shanna, but maybe if you will help me here…”, I replied and then heard a bell ring.
“Are you waiting for any guests?”, she asked.
“Of course not. It’s only you and me.” I opened the door and then froze. The face I saw was the same one I met a year and three months ago, just this time it had a red hat on it.

“Did you ordered pizza?”, the ‘pizza deliverer’ asked.
“No.” Shanna answered automatically.
But my guest wasn’t about to leave, so I said quickly, “Yes. She meant yes.”
I took the pizza from his hands and paid for the unexpected delivery, but he didn’t leave.
When Shanna was far enough, he whispered, “Thanks for the tip, black girl.”

Black girl. That couple of words was enough for me to understand everything.

Shanna looked at me and asked, “What was that?”
“I wanted to… surprise you?”, it sounded half like a question. “I ordered a pizza for us.”
“Not the pizza, stupid. Him.”
“Oh.” Oops. How can I explain this? “I’m not sure but I think he… used to work with my brother”, I said, confused myself.
“And that’s why he looked at you like he’s going to kill you any minute?” She laughed and took a bite from her pizza.
“I guess. Creepy guy. Go figure.” I released a tense laughter.

“It may happen tomorrow. It may happen a month or a year from now”, said the ‘pizza deliverer’, a year and three months ago. “But when you hear the words black girl, you have to go. Fast.”

So it happened, after a long time but it did. And I have to go. Fast. Where? I have no idea. But I have to find a brilliant idea that will get me out of here without Shanna following me.

Then my phone rang.
“Hello, Allie.” Said a smooth voice. “Can you hear me?”
“Who is it?”, I started to panic.
“It doesn’t matter right now. I’m in your side, that’s all you need to know. Your lovely friend can’t go with you, is that clear?”
“Yes.”
“Now repeat after me: ‘What? That can’t be true!'”
“What…” I didn’t know what to do. “That can’t…”
“Ok now say it like you mean it.”
What do I have to lose? “What? That can’t be true!”, The words sounded reliable even to me.
Then the voice on my phone said “Good black girl. Thank me later.” And hung up.
It took me a minute or two to realize. He was trying to help me get rid of her.
But how? What is the cover story? All I said was… Oh.

“Oh Shanna!” I started to cry. “What will I do?” The right question was, what the hell am I doing?
“What happened? Tell me”, She spoke trying to calm me down.
I don’t really remember what I said. I murmured something about my grandmother moving to another country… that I have to talk to her and I have to go. Whatever it was, it worked, and Shanna didn’t ask too many questions.

Finally I’m out of the house. I have to meet him before anyone else will. That was all I could think of. So I took our shortcut from my house to his.

When I got there, I rang the doorbell hoping that it’s not too late. I’ve been in this place so many times before and each time I was excited by its beauty. But now it’s different, I have a lot to do and no time at all.

Lucky me. Nobody is home.
It took me fifteen minutes to catch a taxi. Without thinking I said to the driver, “Take me to the airport.”

 

 

To be countinued… Tomorrow or the next day 🙂

